Runaway Slaves in Eastern North Carolina…

June 23, 2007

The below link will take you to a downloadable Excel file of Runaway slaves in Eastern North Carolina broken down by slave name, owner’s name, location of owner, description, reward, suspected location, runaway date, and advertisement date. The list is limited to owners who advertised for runaway slaves in several Eastern North Carolina newspapers, including: New Bern’s [Craven County] Carolina Centinel, Washington’s [Beaufort County] American Reporter, Wilmington’s [New Hanover County] Cape Fear Recorder, and the Edenton [Chowan County] Gazette.

Runaway Slave List

[Since WordPress doesn't allow you to upload Excel files, all supporting data can be found at the above link]…

Before I comment, take a look at the file and tell me what you think.  I am curious to know what you all think.  I will comment on the chart sometime tomorrow or the next day.

7 Responses to “Runaway Slaves in Eastern North Carolina…”

  1. Justin V Says:

    TT..

    I have to ask you some questions. Where do you live? Where are you from? Why the interest in slavery? Anywho, I think we have much to talk about.

    It’s just you’re poking around in my neighborhood, ENC. I may can help you in some of your research and stuff. Feel free to email me, if you like(esp when posting your personal info). I have access to tons of stuff that some/most/okay just about everyone, DOESN”T have access too.

    • Alethea Skinner Says:

      My ancestors great-great-great grandmother and her brother were sold from North Carolina and grandmother ended up in Louisiana. No idea where her brother went. I tried to open the link provided, it is not available. Please contact me….I’d like to look at the runaway records.


  2. I live near Raleigh, NC. However, my historical studies most often involve Eastern NC (especially the area from New Hanover County up to Perquimans County, and as far west as Robeson County). Basically everything to the East of the coastal plain line.

    Please drop me an e-mail (totaltransformation@yahoo.com) and let me know about the stuff you have access to. I love nothing more than a good historical lead- well maybe dropping ten more pounds would be as enjoyable.

  3. gina Says:

    I ran across this site and it’s just what I needed. I am research my family history and it has led me to NC(Craven County)-names I am interested in are “Jones”-(Evans, Roger, Gideon)
    These men were slave owners and they own my family. I am looking for a list of slave names or any information regarding their slaves activities.
    Can you help?
    Thanks

  4. anita chase Says:

    hi,my oral history told me my gg-grandfather was from craven co.but i cannot “connect the dots” his name was finderson chase.br. 1830.his mother was nancy porter (his death certificated said she was from craven co.) he seems to appeared in edgecomb co. sometime before the 1880 census b/c he was married (nancy lancaster br.1855) with a four year old son by then.what am i doing wrong?

    ?????
    anita

  5. Cecil Price Says:

    I’m interested in any info on slaves in the Rockingham Co. area. Mainly last names Price,Brown,Spencer, and Penn. Any info on where to look would be appricated.


  6. If only I had a dime for every time I came to thehistorydump.wordpress.com… Superb writing.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

